Eden Gardens Remains Happy Hunting Ground as Mumbai Win Second IPL Title

Written by
IPL8 - winners

Mumbai Indians win by 41 runs

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians cruised to victory over Chennai Super Kings in the final of IPL 2015 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

Kolkata: It was exactly two years back that Mumbai Indians won the coveted Indian Premier League for the first time. That too was a Sunday, the venue was same old Eden Gardens and surprisingly, it was against the same opponent.

On a sultry Sunday evening two years later, Mumbai Indians once again clinched the title beating Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs. After putting up 202-5 in 20 overs, a spirited Mumbai Indians restricted Chennai Super Kings to 161-8.

It was one of those evenings when none of Dhoni’s strategies worked and taking advantage of that Rohit Sharma’s men had the last laugh.


Was it a wrong decision to bowl first on a drab, batting friendly track? Mahendra Singh Dhoni must be thinking this after suffering a defeat. Despite having a star-studded and in-form bowling attack, his team conceded 202-5 in 20 overs against Mumbai Indians.

Despite winning the toss, Chennai skipper decided to bowl first and that move backfired. Even after removing Parthiv Patel early in the innings, Rohit Sharma (50) and Lendl Simmons (68) fought back in style to steady the Mumbai ship.

Adding 119 runs in the second wicket, Rohit and Simmons put Mumbai on the front foot. Just when both were eyeing more, they were dismissed in consecutive overs.

But even after their exit, Kieron Pollard (35) and Ambati Rayudu (not out 36) stood firm to ensure that there was no slip-up. Despite putting up a fair show in the tournament, it was a disappointing evening for Ashish Nehra as he failed to grab a wicket and gave away 41 runs in 4 overs.

Brief Scores

Mumbai Indians 202-5 in 20.0 Overs (Lendl Simmons 68, Rohit Sharma 50, Dwayne Bravo 2-36) beat Chennai Super Kings 161-8 in 20.0 Overs (Dwayne Smith 57, Mitchell McClenaghan 3-25)

Man of the Match:
Rohit Sharma for his match winning knock 50 of 26 balls

Player of the Tournament: Andre Russell

Orange Cap awarded to: David Warner

Purple Cap awarded to: Dwayne Bravo

Emerging Player of the Season: Shreyas Iyer

Most Valuable Player: Andre Russell

Article Categories:
Home · News · Pepsi IPL

Leave a Comment