Cricket Australia unveil schedule for home series against India in 2015 – 16

Written by
Cricket Australia unveil schedule for home series against India

Cricket Australia have unveiled the schedule for the home series against India in January 2016.  The major talking point was Adelaide Oval getting back its annual Australia Day (which also happens to be on India’s republic day) fixture as they will be hosting the first T20 match.

India will be heading down under for a limited overs tour featuring 5 ODIs and 3 T20s. The first ODI will be played at Perth and the rest at Brisbane, Melbourne, Canberra and Sydney (all matches are day-night fixtures). The last time the two teams met was in the World Cup Semifinal which was won by Australia comfortably by 95 runs.

The T20s which will prove to be very important for both sides ahead of the World T20 in India two months later will begin immediately after the final ODI. For the first time in six years, the SCG will be hosting a T20 international.

“These teams met in the semi-final of the World Cup in a match which saw more than 300 million fans watching on Star TV in India, and we want to continue to build a strong rivalry which will be on show throughout the summer,” Cricket Australia Executive General Manager of Operations Mike McKenna said as quoted by

“We’re also pleased to be bringing more content to the SCG as part as part of a new agreement to host all international cricket in NSW at that ground.

“The partnership will see international Twenty20 cricket return to the SCG for the first time since 2010, adding to the Test and any One-Day International matches scheduled for Sydney as well.”

Victoria Bitter ODI series vs India

1st ODI: January 12, WACA
2nd ODI: January 15, Gabba
3rd ODI: January 17, MCG
4th ODI: January 20, Manuka Oval
5th ODI: January 23, SCG


KFC T20 series vs India

1st T20: January 26, Adelaide Oval
2nd T20: January 29, MCG
3rd T20: January 31, SCG

Source : Yahoo
Article Categories:
Home · News

Leave a Comment